A book wormy sort of day.

Oh happy day, who doesn’t love a recount of some randoms maternity leave? Nah, I don’t think so. Well, fortunately, it’s my blog. So, I can ramble about whatever I want.

I am on maternity leave, which means that I am reading a lot of books. I decided to revisit some cult classics today. Jane Austin, in my opinion, is a literary goddess and I do love to read about old mate Mr. Darcy. I also made it a goal to try read this book ‘Bright Lights, Big City’ that I got in the Bargain Bin online. I GoodReads it and it had pretty good ratings, so it was worth spending my $6 bucks on.

I wanted to like it. Finding fiction in second person is hard, so I wanted to give the writer credit for that. Additionally, I am moderately obsessed with the 80’s so it was a really great insight into a world I wasn’t privy too. The positives – it is descriptive and insightful. I was able to imagine myself walking with the protagonist throughout the entirety of the novel. For me, it is so much fun picture the life of a New Yorker in the crazy 80’s. How different their reality is from mine. This novel helped me spend a dreary afternoon dreaming about what life might have been like in another history in the past. Whenever a writer can do that – encourage my imagination – I always give them credit. Why is it that us adults lack imagination? Anyway, I digress. Unfortunately, I didn’t like it. I didn’t like it at all. It was boring and I wanted to punch the main character in the face. It was incredibly, incredibly frustrating for me and whilst a fantastic recount of his day to day life, I was just waiting for something to happen. Anything.

But, I feel like this is one of those books where you need more time to think about it. Contemplate and consider before coming to a harsh conclusion. I’m trying to keep an open mind, but every time I think of that protagonist, I just wanted to reach into the book, smack him in the face and tell him to wake up to himself.

Good – writer makes me feel strong emotions. Bad – I was so enraged I was almost tempted to let my dog chew the book up.

As for the Pride and Prejudice. It’s a cult classic guys. There’s a reason why everyone loves Mr. Darcy and I don’t need to explain it.

Leave a Reply

